Rhonda Elkins was 54 years old

Rhonda

I wish I didn’t have to write this post. I don’t want it to be true.

I met Rhonda on the Alliance of Hope forum shortly after I started this blog. She had lost her beloved daughter, Kaitlyn, to suicide in April of 2013. She was heartbroken. She had struggled with depression herself and her daughter’s death made that struggle harder.

She sent me a private message because she wanted to start a blog of her own. I directed her to WordPress and walked her through the process, and then I read the beautiful love letters she wrote to Kaitlyn.

I found out today that Rhonda ended her own life on August 29th.

This news is devastating. I did not know Rhonda well, but I understood her pain as much as it is ever possible to understand something so personal. When I read her posts on the forum, or her blog, I ached for her loss and wished that I could somehow bring Kaitlyn back to her. She was kind to me at a time when kindness was the only balm for my soul. In spite of her own suffering, she reached out to so many people on the forum with words of comfort and hope.

She leaves behind her husband and another daughter. I cannot begin to imagine what this must be like for them.

Her name was Rhonda Elkins. She was 54 years old.

24 thoughts on “Rhonda Elkins was 54 years old

  1. How heartbreaking, Aimee. My prayers go to her family and friends, you among them hoping for the grace of comfort for all of you ❤

    • I know 😦 I only found out today. It had been a while since I’d heard from her and it took me a few minutes to make the connection between her user name on the forum and her real name, and then it just hit me like a bomb. She wrote about her daughter so beautifully, and so heartbreakingly. I just ache for her other daughter and her husband.

      • I know, I felt the same way. She posted those same two videos on the forum with what now seems like a crystal clear statement of her intentions… but of course it is only crystal clear because it is in the rearview mirror and I know what happened. I just hope that they are both getting some good support. I was reading today about how people who have lost a loved one to suicide are four times as likely as the national average to take their own lives. I just wish Rhonda hadn’t become part of that statistic.

      • No need to apologize, it helps just to be talking about it. I’m shocked too — how is it possible not to be? I think suicide is always shocking. It’s been 20 months since my husband’s death and I’m still shocked by it on some level, every single day.

      • Please don’t worry about that. Even in my darkest moments that hasn’t been something I’ve thought about. But thank you for saying that, because this has been a tough day and you actually made me laugh! It’s morbid humor, but the thought of you kicking my dead ass is funny. I have therapy tonight, so I know that will help. And if I get to feeling too blue later, I’ll slap some paint in my art journal. Having paint under my fingernails always makes me feel better. ❤

      • LOL, awesome! If by ‘good’ you mean, I dug deep and now have a wretched post-therapy headache, then yes, it was good. Thanks again for the laugh 🙂

  2. Aimee and all who knew Rhonda, I am so heartbroken and sorry to hear this news. I will remember her as I participate in Richmond’s Out of the Darkness walk tomorrow morning. Much peace, love and warmth to her family. xo

      • I didn’t know that. Something like this is just so hard to understand, and must be so much harder for her family and friends, who have already sustained one loss like this. I cannot even begin to imagine what this must be like for them. I just hope they can find some peace, and that she is with her Kaitlyn now.

Leave a Reply

