If I Could Rearrange the Alphabet

typewriter keys

Ten years ago today, I got an e-mail from Tony.  It was the first time I’d heard of him – he’d seen me on a dating website and sent me what they called a Tease.  It said, “If I could rearrange the alphabet, I would put U and I together.”  It was silly.  It made me laugh.  When I went back later and looked at the other Tease options, that one was the only one that I found even remotely appealing.  Of course, that’s the one he picked.

We e-mailed back and forth, and I remember at one point he said that he had looked at his keyboard and noticed that the U and I keys were in fact right next to each other, and he hoped that didn’t distract from his tease.  I assured him it didn’t – it said alphabet, not keyboard.

I still have that e-mail.  I still have so many of them, hundreds and hundreds over the years.  Looking at them right now makes me really sad, but they are there when I want them.  And every time I look at my keyboard, I think of Tony and I think, how I wish I could put you and I back together.  How I wish.

2 thoughts on “If I Could Rearrange the Alphabet

Leave a Reply

