The Inadequacy of a Pretty Bouquet

I ordered Mother’s Day flowers for my mother-in-law.  I did it today, because Tony’s not here to do it.  I did it because his mother is grieving for him at a time when she is also, in all likelihood, approaching the end of her own life.  I did it because I love her.  I did it because no mother should ever have to hear the news that she heard in December. 

I did it, but Tony should have been here to do it.  He should be here.  I’m angry that he’s not. 

I did it, and I sobbed my way through it. 

I wish I could do more.  I wish, instead of flowers, I could have her son – her living, breathing son – delivered to her doorstep.  I can’t do that.  So instead, I sent flowers.

10 thoughts on “The Inadequacy of a Pretty Bouquet

    • Thank you — I know you’re right, but it feels like such a small thing compared to what I want to be able to give her. Or rather, what I want her not to have lost. xo

  1. That is so very thoughtful and sweet of you. Even in the midst of all you’ve been through, you still let your love shine to others – to those who need it most, such as your mother-in-law. Although it was hard for you, I am sure it will mean the world to her.

  2. ❤ Aimee, what you did is so thoughtful. What you have done is let her know you still love her and honor her son even in your grief and anger. You are a remarkable woman (and I'm not just saying that because I'm your mother). XO Madre

  3. You’ve done even more for her than you can imagine. You are a wonderful, thoughtful and amazing daughter in law.

Leave a Reply

